PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu takes hours to boot, then runs slow

jmaridon
December 3rd, 2009, 08:43 AM
I have a Dell Inspiron 2500, 1G proc, 1G ram, 10 G harddrive. I did a full install of Ubuntu (overnight). I get the grub menu with 4 choices (Ubuntu, Linux 2.6.31-14-generic, Ubuntu, Linux 2.6.31-14-generic [recovery mode], and 2 memory test options). If I choose the first option, the screen goes blank (the backlight is on, there is a blinking cursor at the top left, then that goes away). If I leave it, it will eventually (3 -4 hours) get to a log in screen, then I can type the login and startx and the GUI will start, but it runs very slow. I tried running Xubuntu from a livecd, the same thing happened. I got it to boot will little trouble with Feather Linux, but that OS is a little light for what I want to do, and it has trouble recognizing the lan and wireless cards.

I am new to Ubuntu. My linux experience is very limited. Any ideas or pointing in the right direction would be appreciated.

plusnplus
December 3rd, 2009, 08:55 AM
Hi jmaridon,
Did you install windows before at that notebook? did it run normal/ faster?

grandtoubab
December 3rd, 2009, 09:09 AM
First did you choose the netbook version of Ubuntu ?
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download-netbook
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UNR

second 2.6.31.14 is not the last Kernel, you need to update

boot in recovery mode (second choice in grub)
choose root with network

verify you are on the net

ping www.google.com
if no error
type

apt-get update
apt-get upgradeif things goes well, no errors during upgrade

reboot

sites
December 3rd, 2009, 09:18 AM
Try memtest. If that doesn't return errors then boot into single user mode and run badblocks to test the hard drive. That drive has to be about 10 years old. Good luck with that thing.

jmaridon
December 3rd, 2009, 09:26 AM
Hi jmaridon,
Did you install windows before at that notebook? did it run normal/ faster?