PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partition Size Problem

gamecraziness
December 3rd, 2009, 04:52 AM
Hi.
I'm a Linux noob, I'm just starting to use it, so please don't use any explanations that are too complicated.

I'm booting a Live USB for Ubuntu to partition my drive before installation, but there is a problem. I tried using GParted and the Ubuntu install but it shows the main partition as having no free space, and the only other space available is 8 MB of Unallocated Space. The problem is, that the partition actually has 42 GB of free space, and when I try to resize it it won't let me decrease it, only increase it by 8 MB. When I create a new partition it will not go above the 8 MB.

BTW, the OS installed on the partition is XP and it is NTFS.

Sorry if this isn't too clear.

Thanks in advance.

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 3rd, 2009, 05:03 AM
Welcome to the Ubuntu community!

Are you able to take a screenshot of gparted to illustration your description? Just would help an awful lot.

You can upload it here:
http://imageshack.us/

Also, what is the state of your HDD before, ie HDD size, partitions, operating system(s)?

What are you trying to achieve?

gamecraziness
December 3rd, 2009, 05:12 AM
Thanks.

I'll upload the screenshot tomorrow, I can't do it now, but basically it just won't let me reduce the size of the partition, although it has 42 GB of free space on it. The total HDD size is 80 GB and XP Professional is installed on it. That is the only partition I currently have on my hard drive, but I tried to split it to install Ubuntu.

So basically, I have one partition, 80 GB, 42 GB free, and I want to reduce its size to install Ubuntu on a new partition.

gamecraziness
December 3rd, 2009, 05:16 AM
Oh, forgot to mention-
I know I have to make 2 new partitions, one for / and the other for swap.

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 3rd, 2009, 05:34 AM
Perhaps try a live gparted CD?

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php

oldfred
December 3rd, 2009, 06:02 AM