PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to Ubuntu and what to do?

jquest68
December 2nd, 2009, 03:08 AM
Hey gang, I'm new to this whole Ubuntu. My friend told me about this and I was curious. I'm on windows 7 and afraid to try ubuntu. But he mentioned that I can choose either OS for my laptop upon start up. Is this true? and what would be my best way of doing this?

this is what I've downloaded: Wubi, Ubuntu 9.10, virtual box. I haven't installed anything yet cause I don't know what to do. Can someone tell me whats the best way and or better yet tell me how to do it? thanks.

phillw
December 2nd, 2009, 03:11 AM
Hey gang, I'm new to this whole Ubuntu. My friend told me about this and I was curious. I'm on windows 7 and afraid to try ubuntu. But he mentioned that I can choose either OS for my laptop upon start up. Is this true? and what would be my best way of doing this?

this is what I've downloaded: Wubi, Ubuntu 9.10, virtual box. I haven't installed anything yet cause I don't know what to do. Can someone tell me whats the best way and or better yet tell me how to do it? thanks.

You should head over here --> http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=8390927 for the possible pit-falls of Win7 and ubuntu.

Regards,

Phill.

MelDJ
December 2nd, 2009, 04:45 AM
read the pocket guide. see: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1052065

ed-koala
December 2nd, 2009, 05:15 AM
Burn a Live CD of Ubuntu and try it out a bit first before doing anything.

Period.

garvinrick4
December 2nd, 2009, 05:31 AM
Ed Koala you just scared Hell out of New guy. " Burn a Live CD" with no explantions.
He probably thinks he will have a CD growing hair on it or something. Like the old
Frankenstein movies. It's Alive, It's Alive.

He just meant you download an .iso file of Ubuntu software to your desktop about
699 meg. Takes about 10 minutes or so. Then you choose the burn option when putting
it on to 10 cent CD. and have the CD boot first in your order in BIOS. They are usually