PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.10 installer auto resizes all partitions, regardless of choice

akashiraffee
December 1st, 2009, 08:03 PM
I have been using linux since 1997. I'm a c/perl/web programmer.

I have to do some work on an openGL project and need to use an accelerated graphics card. I have had too many problems getting drivers to work on FC-10-64 so decided to try Ubuntu.

I am BEYOND DISGUSTED with the fact that the installer decided to resize my hard drive dispite the fact that I choose the first option "place them side by side" -- unless, of course, ALL the options involve resizing, which the other three were "erase all", "use largest free" (why?) and "custom", which clearly involved resizing.

I took a photograph of the screen during the process, just to demonstrate which box was ticked and that resizing occured anyway.

So now I have to resize everything again. Who can I complain to about this absurdity? The way I see it, either:

1) there is no option not to resize in the installer, and ubuntu decided the user does not have to be informed.

2) there is a very severe oversight or bug in the installer

3) you must use "custom", and then just set all the sizes to exactly what they are to start with.

4) you are suppose to use "use largest free space" to avoid resizing. I did not want to use the largest free space. I already had a partition set aside for this.

There was a warning vis, "resizing will take some time". The first time, I chose not to continue. After checking my choice to make sure THERE WAS NO MENTION OF RESIZING, I figured there was only one pop-up, and the note was simply to inform you in case you had choosen such an option.