PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding programming-math

azmozizz
December 1st, 2009, 11:52 AM
Hey guys, I registered here because I saw the section about programming talk. I've read all the sticky posts, thank you very much for those links. I just started learning php, and other web technologies and after I'm pretty decent at writing in those I want to go for C/C++/JAVA. My question is, do I need math to code well in those languages? I saw on other forums that you need algorithmical thinking or something like that. I don't have just the basics of math. :( So I'm a bit scared. I hope I didn't upset no one with my topic but I didn't found something on the forum that could answer my question.

0cton
December 1st, 2009, 01:08 PM
not necessarily, depends on what you want to program.
with todays most high languages, for most of the stuff you can think of you won't have to worry about math at all, but knowing fundamental math can help in cases.
Let me put it this way, the lower(To the architecture) you go, the more math stuff you must know usually , but even if you won't use math in your programs , basic math will help understanding some programming stuff better (such as recursive function)
But generally speaking you don't need math to code in most languages.but math may help you in becoming a better coder, and if you want a programming career you may be required to know math as well depending on the job, it's not a black or white answer but I'd go with a no, but I'll still recommend you to get better at math :)

dwhitney67
December 1st, 2009, 06:00 PM
I work as a software engineer, and the math I utilize is quite basic: Addition (when I get a pay check) and Subtraction (when I pay bills). :D