PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] new to ubuntu, need help asap please

vegetto71
December 1st, 2009, 11:26 AM
hello i am new to ubuntu and order ubuntu 9.10 desktop edition for my pc and its not installing right, it keeps saying mountall filesystem could not be mounted: /lib/init/rw and before that it lists alot more, i think the entire filesystem that is supposed to be installed, my computer did have xp home edition on it but was stuck in a reboot glitch which i could not fix without my windows cd i didn't have here right now so i thought if i installed ubuntu until i get my windows xp cd back it would at least be fixed with a OS that doesn't fail to boot up, my computer is a hp pavilion a250n pent 4 HT 2.6, 512mb ram, not sure what other into may be need for someone to help but please just post it and i'll answer, thank you

Bunnybugs
December 1st, 2009, 11:35 AM
hello i am new to ubuntu and order ubuntu 9.10 desktop edition for my pc and its not installing right, it keeps saying mountall filesystem could not be mounted: /lib/init/rw and before that it lists alot more, i think the entire filesystem that is supposed to be installed, my computer did have xp home edition on it but was stuck in a reboot glitch which i could not fix without my windows cd i didn't have here right now so i thought if i installed ubuntu until i get my windows xp cd back it would at least be fixed with a OS that doesn't fail to boot up, my computer is a hp pavilion a250n pent 4 HT 2.6, 512mb ram, not sure what other into may be need for someone to help but please just post it and i'll answer, thank you