PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu (9.10) onto existing partitions

olmecnz
November 30th, 2009, 09:10 PM
I have and existing ubuntu system which I have upgraded from 9.04 to 9.10

Since the upgrade there seem to be some issues (documented in another thread) and as I am relatively new to this stuff I am looking at reinstalling ubunutu 9.10 from the CD i have here.

My question is:
Can I install ubuntu from the CD onto the existing partition structure I have (separate /home and /) without destroying the data on there? I have some systems already setup (apache and so on) that I do not want to delete.

Is this possible, what is the best approach?

Many thanks.
Olmec

diaa
November 30th, 2009, 09:31 PM
Yes, this is possible, I have done it.

I usually use the advanced partitioning option in the Ubuntu installer and then select the root, home and swap partitions, unless you tell it to format one of them the data will remain there(except for the root partition).

However I advice you to take a backup of your home partition, it never hurts.

For the backup you can use partimage which works very well and even compresses the backed-up data.

grizzler
November 30th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Doesn't apache store things in /var somewhere? Better check that too before you lose the sites you built.

t.h.w.
January 22nd, 2010, 12:00 PM
Thanks for this!
I have some problems with my screensaver now and some ather things... I don't trust my installation anymore and want to reinstall (have upgraded from 9.04 to 9.10). A fresh install without losing my existing data and partition-scheme is very welcome I think...

A suggestion I found for reinstalling all your installed packages:
http://www.addictivetips.com/ubuntu-linux-tips/reinstall-your-currently-installed-packages-after-a-fresh-ubuntu-install/

Going to try this this weekend!

Greetz!

oldfred
January 22nd, 2010, 07:41 PM
I did the same thing except using the command line.