PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] gnome trwon't load

phredbull
November 30th, 2009, 07:38 PM
Hi, I'm pretty new to Ubuntu, (9.10), but have been slowly learning my way around.

I was making tweaks to my xorg.conf file, (trying to optimize my graphics performance for a game), and rebooted my machine. (Ctrl+Alt+bkspc doesn't seem to do anything.)
I selected Ubuntu from the OS list, (Wubi install), selected the newer kernel, (2.6.31, I think) and see the white pulsing Ubunto logo, then it just goes to login with the command prompt, no GUI login. I've had similar problems before, and ended up reinstalling. My command line fluency is minimal. (I'm trying to learn, but it's not as intuitive as a GUI.)

Is there a way to either

a) fix Gnome so that it will load properly,
or
b) save all my customizations, installed programs, preferences, etc., and apply them to a new installation?

I am currently running live from a USB stick. I can see my internal HD, but can't see any Linux files on it, only Win files. All my documents are stored on an external HD, so not worried about that, just don't want to have to re-do everything after all the tweaks and customization I've done.

phredbull
November 30th, 2009, 10:44 PM
bump

phredbull
December 1st, 2009, 01:47 AM
Anyone?

phredbull
December 1st, 2009, 03:56 AM
Bumpbump!

phredbull
December 1st, 2009, 06:05 AM
Ima jus' keep on bumpin'!

(Are you guys trying to tell me to reinstall, or just avoiding the thread w/the typo in the title? I fixed the title, it's just that the forum doesn't know it!)

Quintuple posting; talk about bad nettiquette!

Dthdealer
December 1st, 2009, 06:20 AM
When in the /etc/X11 directory, look for any xorg.conf.date files. Move one ontop (overwrite) your current one.

Alternatively enter sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
at the command-line. This is probably the best option.

phredbull
December 1st, 2009, 06:29 AM
Thank you, I've been waiting all day for you! I'll try option#2 now...