PDA

View Full Version : Assembly vs. C++

grim918
February 21st, 2006, 08:39 PM
I'm a beginner programmer, I mostly work with PHP, but now i want to learn something else. I want to learn Assembly but everyone that I know tells me that it will be a waste of time and that I should just learn C++. I would like to know what are some of the advantages of programming in assembly, if there is any, over programming in C++. My goal is to eventually learn how to program some useful applications like programming a cd burner. I know that I am far,far away from programming a project like that but my goal right now is to start learning a language that has the capability of doing something like that.

ignorance
February 21st, 2006, 09:01 PM
i don't know what you can do with c++, but i can tell you if your going to learn assembly than i sugest you start learning how ram and such works. assembly mainly uses your registery's.

but here is a nice link towards assembly programming.
http://la.kmv.ru/

simon_is_learning
February 21st, 2006, 09:04 PM
Well the advantages of C++ vs Assembly is for me the ease of starting.

I have no experience with C++, but where I am a trainee we program PIC's with assebmly. And the master in programing has his background in C++.

So I think it's much more easy to start with C++ becouse all you need is a computer and a keyboard (and some brain). For assembly you have to get the code out of the box. You'll need a PIC (programmable integrated circuit) and electronical skills.

If you want to learn that, maybe you'll better search up someone that already has it, maybe a company nearby.

Iandefor
February 21st, 2006, 09:09 PM
Assembly is pretty dated and not all that applicable. I would suggest C++.

endersshadow
February 21st, 2006, 09:15 PM
Try Lisp (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lisp_programming_language)!! Just kidding, of course.

You should figure out what you want to do...I would suggest C, or Python...but if it's between Assembly and C++, go C++ :-D