PDA

View Full Version : Starting to Create a program in C

Venkat.yarl
November 29th, 2009, 10:34 PM
Hey guys,

I am an experienced programmer in Java but not in C and not on Linux, So I need some help about how to go about programming in c in Linux.

How do I start Programming in C? Is there a specific editor u guys recommend?

I am planning to write a C program for Ubuntu its kinda basically like a windows media center so I need some help with how to make sure the program is view in full screen, and Would I be able to play music and Movies on the full screen... and Do you have any suggestions of where I should go about starting the project.

MadCow108
November 30th, 2009, 12:13 AM
use the search
there are tons of threads about getting started. also look in the stickies.

why do you want to use C?
C is kind of low level and not really suited for application development.
Especially not for something security critical like a media center.

PmDematagoda
November 30th, 2009, 04:02 AM
C is kind of low level and not really suited for application development.
Especially not for something security critical like a media center.

There are plenty of applications developed in C, so I would disagree with you there. Also, I am not sure if C is that low level, because if you compare Xlib to GTK+(both in C) then Xlib is more "low level" compared to GTK+, so I think the low levelness depends on the libraries and API you use.

And how is a media center a security critical application? And even if it is one, then I would think that the kernel is one of the biggest security critical parts of an OS, but the Linux, Mac OS and *BSD kernels are mostly written in C.

MadCow108
November 30th, 2009, 10:30 AM