PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I uninstall 9.10 i386 & install 9.10 amd64?

jarednielsen
November 28th, 2009, 05:21 PM
Total noob here.
I built my first PC and installed Ubuntu 9.10. Unfortunately I installed the 32bit version and need the 64. I made a new installation disk with the AMD64.iso but when I try to install it receive this message:

E: Unable to locate any package files, perhaps this is not a Debian Disc or the wrong architecture?

I've searched through forums and found advice on how to do this with a Windows CD or by partitioning. I don't have a Windows CD and don't know enough about partitioning. How do I do this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

phillw
November 28th, 2009, 05:38 PM
Total noob here.
I built my first PC and installed Ubuntu 9.10. Unfortunately I installed the 32bit version and need the 64. I made a new installation disk with the AMD64.iso but when I try to install it receive this message:

E: Unable to locate any package files, perhaps this is not a Debian Disc or the wrong architecture?

I've searched through forums and found advice on how to do this with a Windows CD or by partitioning. I don't have a Windows CD and don't know enough about partitioning. How do I do this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) Is it deffo a 64 bit chipset
2) How much data do you need to backup from your exisitng Ubuntu Install
3) What Size hard disk & partitions do you currently have
4) how much RAM

Regards,

Phill.

darkod
November 28th, 2009, 05:39 PM
If you left Ubuntu to use the whole disk during the 32bit install and set up its own partitioning, you probably have one large / (root) partition and one swap partition.
Boot with the 64bit CD, select Install Ubuntu option. On step 4 when it asks where to install select manual and it will display the current partition you have.