PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Desktop Cube Ubuntu 9.10

Woody_Paranoia
November 27th, 2009, 06:47 PM
Hi, I would like to activate desktop cube on my netbook. However after searching through forums and general google searching all the suggested solutions for other people don't seem to work for me, although they seemed to work for the original poster.

I am completely new to ubuntu so please go easy and don't say too much complex things, i know a thing or two about computers but Ubuntu is a completely new and different to me.

Can anyone please help?

Thanks

practic
November 27th, 2009, 07:36 PM
It would help if you told whether you are using Ubuntu Netbook Remix, or just regular Ubuntu 9.10...but the instructions are pretty similar. I'll keep them as simple as possible:

1. Open the Ubuntu Software Center (usually at the bottom of the Applications menu).

2. Type:

compiz

...in the Search box.

3. Make sure three of the programs that show up on the search list are installed:

Compiz
Advanced Desktop Effects Settings (ccsm)
Simple Compiz Config Settings Manager

4. Once this is done, close the Ubuntu Software Center, and go to the System->Preferences menu and choose Appearance. The Appearance dialog will open.

5. Select the last tab on the Appearance Preferences dialog, which is called Visual Effects.

6. Select the Custom radio button. If you didn't have effects turned on, you might have to wait a bit for the graphics driver to initialize.

7. Now click the Preferences button to the right of the Custom radio button. That will load the Simple CompizConfig Settings Manager, which has some of the basic and most popular Compiz settings.

8. On the Simple CompizConfig Settings Manager click on the Desktop tab, change the Appearance to Desktop Cube, and make sure your Desktop columns are set to 4, and the Desktop rows to 1.

9. Now hold down Ctrl and Alt and either click and drag the left mouse, or use the right or left arrow keys. You should see the cube effect.