PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Speedtest.net doesn't start the test

darkod
November 26th, 2009, 09:35 PM
Hello. I am new to Ubuntu and there is probably something I missed.
When trying to test my internet speed on www.speedtest.net I can not run the test. The map with the test servers shows up as normal, you point the cursor to some location and it shows the city. So far so good.
You click on the city and nothing happens. :(

As far as I know, I have installed flashplugin-nonfree and java plugin (don't remember the exact package name). My Ubuntu is 64bit but I have also installed the 32bit java plugin and I thought it actually helped. I remember once I was able to run the test.
Then without any changes to firefox, it doesn't want to start same as before installing java plugin.
Are there more packages to install?
In System -> Preferences I can see control panel for both Java and Java 32bit, opened both and under Java tab in View it shows the plugin as enabled. Also firefox preferences show JavaScript and Java enabled, haven't touched those.

Thanks in advance.

smilingralph
November 28th, 2009, 12:13 AM
Darkod. I had the exact same problem although I'm using 32 bit Xubuntu 9.10. In my case the problem was a conflict with kdocker. Starting firefox without kdocker solved the problem.
Ralph

darkod
November 28th, 2009, 01:09 PM
Thanks for the reply. I will look into it but it seems it's not the same problem. Judging by the name kdocker is used in KDE or Kubunu, while I am running Ubuntu with gnome.
But you made a valid point, I am also starting firefox from the shortcut on the top bar, I will try from the App menu to see what happens.

darkod
November 28th, 2009, 06:15 PM
I have tried anything I could think of with my limited Ubuntu experience. I think the problem is the java applet not executing but don't know how to check.