PDA

View Full Version : Moved window to another workspace



Wiebert
November 25th, 2009, 11:33 PM
Hi,

The normal auto start on login doesnt allow to specify on what workspace which windows should start.
Is it possible to move the windows via a API / terminal command ? (something that works with Python would be nice).

Thanks.

kaibob
November 26th, 2009, 02:54 AM
Hi,

The normal auto start on login doesnt allow to specify on what workspace which windows should start.
Is it possible to move the windows via a API / terminal command ? (something that works with Python would be nice).

Thanks.

I don't have a good answer to your question. But, if nothing else come's up, you may want to look at the xdotool command-line utility. It has a set_desktop_for_window option that moves a window to a different desktop. It's not installed by default but is in the repo's.

diesch
November 26th, 2009, 04:41 AM
wmctrl (not installed by default) lets you do things like that from the command line.

If you want some windows to always start on a specific workspace have a look at devilspie (not installed by default).