PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Adobe Flash Player.

Zerorebels
November 25th, 2009, 09:40 PM
Hi, first let me just say i am new to the Linux world. and that i have 9.10 karmic koala. when ever i try to install Adobe Flash Player, i get an error stating in the status box of the package installer Error: Wrong Architecture 'i386' when i try to install it. anyway to fix it?

Thank you for your time,
ZeroRebels.

[Edit]: quick edit. was using Firefox i am now using Opera because i thought firefox was the problem. seems its not. will it still work even if im on opera?

wilee-nilee
November 25th, 2009, 09:44 PM
Have you loaded medibuntu and key
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu

JBAlaska
November 25th, 2009, 09:47 PM
Looks like your trying to install the x86_64(64bit) flash on a x86 (32bit) Ubuntu

Zerorebels
November 25th, 2009, 09:55 PM
i downloaded the 64bit Ubuntu amd64 im pretty sure thats the 64bit one. so i dont know why im getting the error. as for medibuntu will be looking at that see if it fixes error.

audiomick
November 25th, 2009, 09:56 PM
Looks like your trying to install the x86_64(64bit) flash on a x86 (32bit) Ubuntu

or the other way around?

Anyway, go and look at this. You are interested in the Ubuntu-restricted-extras stuff

https://help.ubuntu.com/9.10/internet/C/web-browsing.html

Zerorebels
November 25th, 2009, 10:08 PM
or the other way around?

Anyway, go and look at this. You are interested in the Ubuntu-restricted-extras stuff

will install the extras and see what happens thanks for all the help guys ^^.

Zerorebels
November 25th, 2009, 10:17 PM
or the other way around?

i cant seem to make the extras open/install using firefox(reinstalled it). i get a box prompting me on what application i want to use/associate the file with but i cant find the firefox.exe/tar.gz/.deb or anything. any help?

JBAlaska
November 25th, 2009, 10:21 PM
Just type this in a terminal to install:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras