PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing over windows 7?

Sentience
November 25th, 2009, 08:17 AM
I have seen this topic come up a few times, but I am a noob and need somebody to spell it out for me in simple baby steps and even tell me where everything is.

I just got a laptop, an Aspire because it was cheap for the specs. It came with windows 7 installed on it, which I have no experience with. Normally to install Ubuntu I would just pop in the disk and restart. Now it just ignores the disk entirely and I cant install. I dont know how to get this started.

I have nothing of value on my windows 7 yet, so I dont care about doing anything "safely" or worry about losing data. I just want a quick and easy way to get Ubuntu onto my computer on a daul partition.

jacobs444
November 25th, 2009, 08:30 AM
sounds like you need to change the option in the bios to boot from cd/dvd first instead of HD. The info will be on acers website if you dont know how.

Sentience
November 25th, 2009, 08:31 AM
Windows is going to destroy Ubuntu if someone doesnt make a more user friendly way to install the operating system over windows 7. Did they do that purposefully just to destroy the competition? If so, what is your response going to be?

Edit: So this isnt normal? I have no idea how to change the bios. I have never changed anything on the bios before. Is this a question for the acer forums?

jacobs444
November 25th, 2009, 08:35 AM
yes it is, this is a bios, not ubuntu problem, it is very user friendly. They change this option so that you don't remove windows. They don't want it to be easy to subvert microsoft!

Sentience
November 25th, 2009, 08:43 AM
I love Ubuntu, but the "its not our fault" isnt a satisfactory response to the problem. You have to accept the obstacles they throw at you and find a solution for the problems they cause, even if its not your fault, or its not really user friendly.

Acer wont help either. This is what they had to say.