PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dock for ubuntu

amirmku
November 24th, 2009, 07:24 AM
Hi everyone out there, I am using ubuntu9.04 and pretty much happy with it.
But I want to have mac like dock. I do installed AWN but i found my system became slow.
therfore I wud like to know did anyone else also face this problem? if yes how to overcome.
Pls help
As I am new to ubuntu please explain in detail as to wht i need to overcome this problem.
I find AWN more closer to mac therefore wud like to have it without compromising on the system speed.

jacobs444
November 24th, 2009, 07:29 AM
try cairo dock

Roasted
November 24th, 2009, 07:53 AM
I suggest Docky. Cairo Dock is nice but, good luck with that Control Panel. It's nothing short of horrible. But I admit - the eye candy is definitely there with Cairo Dock.

Docky is part of Gnome-Do. So install Gnome-Do from add/remove programs. Then open Gnome-Do from Applications - Accessories - Gnome-Do. It'll open a shaded window. In the upper right there is a small icon, click it, then hit preferences. In the appearance tab select the Dock theme and your dock will appear after a few seconds. From there you can configure the way the dock hides and the size etc.

vexeuz
November 24th, 2009, 10:00 AM
I have tried AWN, Cairo and Docky but each kinda have their own problems.

AWN: everything works great except I want to utilize my widescreen space and put the dock on the side, but it can't

Cairo: configuration is rediculous. It just doesn't act like you want it to

Docky: config option is minimal. Looks like nice but can't change much. And it doesn't have gmenu button.

I just settle with using the gnome panel and added "dockbarx applet" and "gnomenu".

borncrusader
November 24th, 2009, 12:46 PM
There was this utility called kiba dock.. i used to have it in feisty/hardy (forgot :) )

this'll look cool with nice physics effects...

MelDJ
November 24th, 2009, 01:48 PM
simdock in repo?

andrea000
November 24th, 2009, 08:45 PM