PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help! Ubuntu won't install

mmq_136
November 24th, 2009, 04:41 AM
So let me preface this by saying that I am a complete linux newbie. I've wanted for some time to give ubuntu a try, but after a brief experiment with it years ago I set it aside and never came back.

Well recently I decided to try my luck with it again, and set up a dual boot pc with xp and Ubuntu, however the old cd I had installed successfully on a previous computer would experience a problem before reaching installation on this pc. So I decided to try the new build of Ubuntu (9.10) and surprisingly I encountered the exact same problem. The problem is when I boot the PC with the Ubuntu disk I access the initial installation menu just fine (the one that gives you the options to try ubuntu without changes, install, test memory, etc.), however when I choose to install the OS I receive the gray ubuntu loading icon for a minute followed by a very strange screen of strange colored bars and stripes (sometimes flickering), and nothing more.

I have a feeling that the issue is with my video card's compatibility but I can't be sure. If anyone has any sort of work around or ideas the suggestions would be very much appreciated.

My system is:
Asus P5SD2-X series mobo
Pentium D processor
NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT video card

I'd be happy to fill in any other details that I can if you think the info would be helpful. Thanks!

SpitfireSMS
November 24th, 2009, 05:22 AM
Your video card shouldnt be the issue, unless its actually about to crap out on you..

It sounds to me like your discs may be of poor quality, I would try one more disk.

Also, before you burn that one disc, RE-download ubuntu.
I had an issue installing 9.10 because my hard drive had a bad sector, which part of the ubuntu iso was written to.
So every copy I burned of that iso was corrupt.

If it still doesnt work with a new .iso and a new cd, then it could be your hardware.

raynman
November 24th, 2009, 06:41 AM