PDA

View Full Version : Why do we have to use assert() with mutexes?

Koalano
November 24th, 2009, 04:28 AM
Hi! I'm new to thead programming and I have a question.

I'm reading an example. This example illustrates condition variables in the context of producers and consumers. You create a producer thread that creates work and then N consumer threads that operate on the (simulated) work.

Here is a code snippet of one of the consumers:

while( 1 ) {
assert( pthread_mutex_lock( &cond_mutex ) == 0);
assert( pthread_cond_wait( &condition, &cond_mutex )
== 0 );

if (workCount) {
workCount—;
printf( “Consumer %x: Performed work (%d)\n”,
pthread_self(), workCount );
}
assert( pthread_mutex_unlock( &cond_mutex ) == 0);

}My question is why do we have to use assert() in this snippet? In this case, the consumer will abort if the mutex is not available.

If we don't use assert(), the consumer just waits for the mutex to be available and then do the work. Wouldn't this be the behavior we expect from a consumer?

Thanks for reading my question.

Regards,

Koalano

JBAlaska
November 24th, 2009, 04:56 AM
The assert() statement; unless the code is compiled with NDEBUG defined, assert() does nothing when its argument evaluates to true (that is, nonzero), but causes the program to abort if the argument evaluates to false (zero). Such assertions are especially useful in multithreaded programs--they immediately point out runtime problems if they fail, and they have the additional effect of being useful comments.

Using invariants is an extremely useful technique. Even if they are not stated in the program text, think in terms of invariants when you analyze a program.