PDA

View Full Version : Building a basic word processor

cjnodell
February 20th, 2006, 06:52 PM
Hello all. I am very new to programming. I have played with java a bit, but have no real experience. I want to make a basic word processor. I want it to save rtf or html files. I needs to have a wysiwyg work environment. besides the work area, these are the following features i want to implement:

File menu with open, new, save, save as, page layout and exit. For page layout i only need to be able to specify a4 or US letter sized paper and portrait or landscape layouts.
Edit menu with cut, copy, paste, and if reasonable an undo and redo options.
Format menu to select from available fonts, sizes, styles (bold, underline, italics, sub and superscript), alignment (left, center and right), and font color.
Help menu with about info.

I am not interested in inserting pics or tables. I am also wanting to make tool bars with many or the for mentioned options available. I also want the app to be as small as possible and to use as few resources as possible. I want it to have as few dependencies as possible. It is meant to be used on legacy 486 and Pentium's. I am looking to make rapid progress, even if that means i might have overall holes in my programming game. My goal is to build this app and learn what is needed to do so, not to become the mother of all programmers.

Basically i am looking for a starting point. What language and widget set would be best for such a product? What IDE would work best? Are there any tutorials out there that will get me started along the right path?

Thaks for the help!
Charles

toojays
February 20th, 2006, 10:36 PM
I suspect that you are in over your head, and should start with something a bit smaller. However, Qt have a tutorial which makes a basic text editor (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.1/mainwindows-application.html). This can help you get started, to see if you understand what's involved.