PDA

View Full Version : What makes a program 'powerful'?

SLEEPER_V
November 22nd, 2009, 06:27 AM
As a noob, I have always wondered what makes one program 'powerful' and another not so powerful. Anyone care to give an opinion?

Psumi
November 22nd, 2009, 06:32 AM
When it becomes widely used.

IE: Windows.

Frak
November 22nd, 2009, 06:55 AM
I think it's subjective, but to me it would be the ability to fully complete the job with very little to no error. For instance, AutoCAD isn't easy to use for somebody who has never done CAD work, but for those of us who have, it's a very powerful piece of software. The terminal, some of us know how to use it to it's full potential, and for that it's powerful.

samh785
November 22nd, 2009, 06:55 AM
As a noob, I have always wondered what makes one program 'powerful' and another not so powerful. Anyone care to give an opinion?
I interpret it as meaning that the program is faster, or can do more than competing software that attempts to accomplish a similar task.

JDShu
November 22nd, 2009, 07:07 AM
When it can do Lots of Stuff

Xbehave
November 22nd, 2009, 07:33 AM
+1 it's that simple

lisati
November 22nd, 2009, 07:54 AM

A good program is easy to use and gets the job done.

amingv
November 22nd, 2009, 08:06 AM
I'd say: It's a program that does it job well and, to it's user, better than the alternatives. So I agree with Frak that it's subjective.

This can be different for every kind of program: a powerful compiler may optimize code and reduce compiling time; a powerful word processor may be compatible with a wide range of formats, work cleanly and maybe even have some form of artificial intelligence to correct grammar/spelling according to context; a powerful file compressor shrinks the files the most, in less time and with the least possible losses; and so forth.

3rdalbum
November 22nd, 2009, 08:17 AM

+2 (as long as it's relevant to the task).

Xbehave
November 22nd, 2009, 08:51 AM