PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Wireless Disapeared!!!

PerverseLeigh
November 21st, 2009, 09:52 PM
OK. I'm new to Ubuntu but not computers. I'm not afraid of tech so if I can understand what I'm doing I can do it.
My son likes downloading viruses so we got him Ubuntu for his Dell Inspiron 6400. After arguing with the Wireless for 12hrs I finally programed it to turn the wireless card on (no hardware toggle) and connect automatically. (YAY Forum!) So this morning when he points out that he can't get online I was TICKED! PLUS the place on the task bar, (near the clock,) where the little connection menu WAS is GONE.
I searched a LOT & found nothing helpful. could someone PLEASE tell me what's going on? We have Ubuntu and it says Gnome Desktop (??) but it also says Karmic Koala... I think it's out to make me miserable...

tlois
November 21st, 2009, 10:12 PM
Right click on the tool bar and try to add the NM icon back to it. That happened to my stepdaughter too somehow. When we added the icon back, there she was again. It may have been Notification or something, but finding the correct icon was not obvious, so try that one.

see this too:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1311790&highlight=network+manager+icon+disappeared

PerverseLeigh
November 21st, 2009, 10:27 PM
That doesn't seem to apply in this instance =( I tried as you explained it & didn't see the connection menu in the list of things I can add to the panel

tlois
November 21st, 2009, 10:39 PM
Did you follow this guy's instructions? It is called Notification Area.

"Hello Everyone.