PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem after 9.04 to 9.10 upgrade

mode101
November 21st, 2009, 03:11 PM
I was running linux on 9.04 and it was running prefectly. I received a notice that an upgrade was available, so I said OK to install it....

Problems I have after the upgrade:

1) My desktop icons are gone.

2) I cannot right click on just the desktop, right click works on the top and bottom bars of the screen, but not right on the desktop

3) I have a "Places" drop down on the top toolbar, when I click on places like home folder, desktop, documents, nothing comes up.

I have seen other posts with people having the exact same problems after the upgrade, but have not found a 'fix' that seems to work.

This box is my oldest computer, but seemed to run 9.04 great. I have a nvidia card, 1gb ram.

I am new to linux, sorry if this has been answered before, I really did try to find a fix ;)

thanks!!

MiCK.ca
November 21st, 2009, 03:22 PM
Is your information backed up? I had the same exact problem with My wife's PC.

I did understand going into the upgrade that 9.10 is also upgrading Gnome/Nautilus. this could account for the desktop/icons/toolbar behaviour. i ended up backing up all data and (actually created a separate home partition for my wife) and reloaded.

Having a separate /home partition will help in the future when an upgrade goes foul and no info will be lost. BUT WAIT! i haven't answered your question yet... anyways, this has happened to more than yourself. In most of these cases people just simply backed up and reloaded FRESH.

I say backup/ reload/ and enjoy a fresh installation. i ended up doing the same with mine. Trust me having a separate /home partition REALLY saves you headaches. Fresh is always better. Sorry if this isn't the answer you were hoping for.

intrader
November 21st, 2009, 11:05 PM
I have posted by experience with updating from 9.04 to 9.10. The resulting UI is just about unusable.