PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Very basic howto install my WLAN driver

S1lverado
November 21st, 2009, 01:17 AM
Lead me to the link...no doubt the question has been already raised.

Ive gotten a rtl8187 driven usb wlan antenna. It has a driver on the accompanying CD.
Ive looked into Synaptic Package Manager but still have no clue as to how to install it.

This dual booting HP Pavilion zv6000 has XP and 9.04 installed. And it has a PCMCIA card with a BCM43xx driver that is allowing me to presently post. But it has poor connectivity therefore the desired realtek device alternative. And Id like to retain the ability to use any attached wlan device.

I dont have a clue about operating in a terminal window. Yep! Im brand new at this.
A friend set up the duel boot and its time I started dabbling a bit on my own. I dont know where or how to start looking so here I am.

thanks

ghostborg
November 21st, 2009, 02:12 AM
I have a zv6131us a BBuy version of yours I believe, Karmic recognized the onboard wireless but I later installed an N card in the slot and got it working OK, 54g at best. The real issue was with the suspend/hibernate. I could never get it to work properly. Ubuntu ran beautifully on the machine but I finally gave up and installed Win7. Runs good but I had to find a vista 64 driver for the sound to work. Other than that it seems to run fine.
This one kicked my butt, and closing the lid on a laptop is critical and must work. I reluctantly succumbed to the Dark Side.

I believe the Vista64bit driver was a Conaxant Audio driver 64, sp35558.exe

S1lverado
November 21st, 2009, 03:21 PM
Ive been trying to follow: help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/Ndiswrapper.