PDA

View Full Version : Why Linux defaults are so SCARY!~!~!

TTT_travis
February 20th, 2006, 03:31 AM
Hey, I recently (yesterday) got bored and installed Ubuntu Breezy Dual Booted with Windows on my Families computer. I have been using Breezy on my server for a few months now and love it. However I have never really liked Linux for a Desktop PC, I'm a mac guy and used to be *YIKES* Windows a few things I noticed when I first installed a desktop install that might make linux scary to a new commer.

1 - Human: WOW, ummm one of the first things that I and most people look for in an OS is not how well it performs or its anti-spywarness but its look, no offense to the people that made Human but it just doesn't look modern, and to me Linux should be modern. This however was one of the eaisiest thing to fix I used a variation of several different themes and that made me like linux ALLOT more.

Window Border: http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show.php?content=32659
Controls: http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show.php?content=24840 (SWEET)
And I used a nice icon set that I forgot the name of, this greatly improved my liking aswell as my families.

2 - Gnome: First, of all I love Gnome I used to be KDE fan until I tried ubuntu about a year ago, since them I have been addicted to Gnome. One of that things that bothers me though is inital menu layout with 2 bars and the apps menu and window list on the top. Since Gnome is so easy to use this was a simple fix: removed the top menu and but the mini apps menu on the bottom followed by a few launchers (firefox, terminal etc.) and then window list followed by the notification area and finally the volume (and maybe weather) and network icons. This seemed to make it kinda of Windows like without actually making it windows like (if that makes any sense. I think what would be nice is an option in Gnome to change the default menu layout without doing it all manually, not that its hard to do manually.