PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Shared partition between 9.04 and Vista

AimeeTheGreat
November 20th, 2009, 07:27 PM
If you're lazy just read the bold parts. I'm not sure how much of this is actually important, so I just decided to do it all.

First: I'm a noob, but I know some things about computers, so try not to use too much baby talk with me. (If I don't know something, I'll ask.)

For some reason, I couldn't shrink the NTFS partition (I tried several tools.) So I did a backup and wiped the whole thing and then installed Ubuntu 9.04 yesterday. Because I had a proper disc for it. My CD drive is extremely noisy with burned CD-Rs.

Then I upgraded to 9.10, which killed my sound, so I reinstalled back to 9.04. I was up till 2 am and I had to recopy all my files over which was a major pain in the ***. I'll wait till the bugs are ironed out until I upgrade it.

Then the next morning, my mom freaked out over me installing Ubuntu. Because this is technically a rent-to-own computer and although they said they had no problem with me using different OS, my mom's convinced that they'll charge us for reinstalling Windows.

I made a compromise with her and said I'll do a dual-boot of Vista Home Premium (I have a retail version) and Ubuntu.

So, what I want to do, is create a shared data partition between the two OSes. I have a slight habit of borking up operating systems ;) and it's a pain to restore from a backup. And I don't want the files to be trapped on one operating system in case something happens.

I have a 500 gig drive. For the data partition, I have a lot of large DVD files, so it needs to be somewhat big enough. (Also be nice to share the Firefox settings between them.) For the Windows partition, I play a couple of multi-gigabyte games and would need some space for that, too. I don't know how big Ubuntu should be because I haven't used it long enough. I know it only takes up about 4 gigs so it could probably be a bit smaller.

Couple questions: