PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing JDK

Abadon125
November 19th, 2009, 06:29 AM
Sorry if this is a simple question. I am trying to install Eclipse and the JDK on Ubuntu 9.10 and it is much harder than I expected.

I have Eclipse installed (from Software center) but I can not find any current documentation on installing the JDK. Can someone please help? I am new to ubuntu so the simpler the instructions the better. Thanks so much!

myrtle1908
November 19th, 2009, 06:47 AM
Sorry if this is a simple question. I am trying to install Eclipse and the JDK on Ubuntu 9.10 and it is much harder than I expected.

I have Eclipse installed (from Software center) but I can not find any current documentation on installing the JDK. Can someone please help? I am new to ubuntu so the simpler the instructions the better. Thanks so much!

You can do it easily in the bash shell with apt-get but as you are new to Ubuntu this may be a more comfortable method:-

1. Start the Synaptic Package Manager which should be found in System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager

2. Type java6 in the quick search box and press enter.

3. It should find a bunch of 'sun-java6-*' packages. Tick the ones you want eg. sun-java6-jdk and press the 'Apply' button in the toolbar.

Abadon125
November 19th, 2009, 05:49 PM
I actually did try that but for some reason keep getting an error. I posted a screen shot below.

MonoDeem
November 19th, 2009, 06:50 PM
Documents package have been laying broken for years. Exclude it from the list and you'll have no errors :)

Abadon125
November 19th, 2009, 06:53 PM
Documents package have been laying broken for years. Exclude it from the list and you'll have no errors :)

How do I do that? When I type no it then does something and asks me the question again and I say no again then it quits.
Thanks again :)

MonoDeem
November 19th, 2009, 06:56 PM
To not to make things too complicated: