PDA

View Full Version : Bsd... Ugh!.

youbuntu
November 19th, 2009, 01:50 AM
Before I continue, this is NOT meant to be a fight, a flame war or anything else, I am simply expressing that I prefer GNU/Linux *philosophy* to BSD's - that is *all*. You guys are probably better qualified to speculate about the differences, as I know hardly anything about BSD, except that I don't get the same community driven, freedom feeling about it.

Just watched a VERY boring (and rushed) lecture on BSD:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ds77e3aO9nA

Now, I am NO expert on BSD, but there is something I just don't like about it - it makes me feel uncomfortable, and as if the whole OS has it's roots in corporate money making & greed, I may be wrong here, but GNU & Linux seems to be a *LOT* better philosophy, and far more widespread.

I cannot pinpoint exactly what it is that I am trying to convey here, suffice to say...

BSD = fail. BSD = ugh!.

PS: I admire GNU/Linux far more, as it has been effectively written from scratch as a Unix *clone*, whereas BSD is just a port... as far as I know.

dragos240
November 19th, 2009, 01:51 AM

*facepalm*

youbuntu
November 19th, 2009, 01:53 AM

*facepalm*

Explain please?.

toupeiro
November 19th, 2009, 01:54 AM
Seems to me you're judging BSD on a youtube lecture. I don't really think you're making a fully educated decision on the matter. I'm not a BSD advocate by a long shot. My gripes, .. or maybe indifferences is a better word, about BSD are technical and first hand experienced. Perhaps you should try it before dubbing it a failure.

When it comes to UNIX, I'm all about SYSV. Give OpenSolaris a spin after playing with BSD. I'd be curious to hear your feedback.

RiceMonster
November 19th, 2009, 01:54 AM
The BSD license is more free than the GPL.

GO!

dragos240
November 19th, 2009, 01:56 AM
Explain please?.