PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Triple boot: Hardy, Jaunty and Windows XP?

iniesta
November 18th, 2009, 03:10 PM
Hi guys,

My computer currently has Jaunty and Windows XP installed. My hard disk partitioning is as follow:

+ /dev/sda1: Ubuntu 8.04
+ /dev/sda2: Linux Swap
+ /dev/sda3: Windows XP
+ unallocated: ~50GB

And now I want to install Ubuntu 9.10 on the unallocated space. To do so, I intend to choose the option "Use the largest continuous free space" in the Hard disk partitioning stage of the installation process. Is that ok?

Thanks and regards,

Iniesta.

darkod
November 18th, 2009, 03:11 PM
Yes, or if you prefer to create the partitions manually. It gives you more control.

iniesta
November 18th, 2009, 03:19 PM
Yes, or if you prefer to create the partitions manually. It gives you more control.

Hi darkod,

Thank you very much for your answer. Since I'm a newbie I think I should not manually create the partitions (maybe I will choose this option when I become a pro :D).

Well, I have another question: If I choose the option "Use the largest continuous free space", then the Jaunty's installation will create another Linux Swap partition or it will share the old one with Hardy?

Thank again.

Iniesta.

darkod
November 18th, 2009, 03:24 PM
Don't know, never used it. :) And I'm fairly new to linux myself.
Don't be afraid from manually creating partitions, it's only one click with the mouse. I don't use automatic options just because I want control which partitions to create and what size.
Also, I never installed two ubuntu OS on the same pc, you are right asking about swap because you can probably use the same swap partition. After all, you will be able to run only one ubuntu at a time.

raymondh
November 18th, 2009, 04:38 PM
Well, I have another question: If I choose the option "Use the largest continuous free space", then the Jaunty's installation will create another Linux Swap partition or it will share the old one with Hardy?