PDA

View Full Version : Converting CS students to Ubuntu

Localhoste
November 18th, 2009, 06:45 AM
Hello~

This is quite a block of text that's mostly about me and my life, so it's probably boring. I don't expect many people to read or reply to this, I just want to give the people who do want to reply, well, an occasion to do so.

So I'm a Computer Science student (first year...) and have been using Ubuntu for a year and a half now, and like it so much that I want to convert people to it. I see all my classmates rocking their Windows netbooks or their fancypants OS X shiny laptops but I feel like they're missing out by not learning about Ubuntu or Linux in general. It is probably going to occupy a great place in their lives if they go for a CS degree, especially if they're going to become sysadmins and such... Obviously most of them want to be games developers but whatever.
In particular, I have a certain close friend that I've known since high school and he's been using Windows the whole time. I force-taught him web development, basis of PHP/MySQL, etc., but he seems reluctant to learn new things, which I think is a crucial skill in computer science, IT, etc.