PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] black screen on ubuntu 9.10 lenovo install.

November 18th, 2009, 04:28 AM
Hey guys, Finally taking the full dive into linux double booting win 7 *only as backup, hate it* but every time I try to Fresh install ubuntu 9.10 32 & 64 bit or even upgrade it on a lenovo y550 (4186), I get a black screen, I see a flash of a few white lines for an instant then black and it stays there, let it sit for 5 hrs came back and still there. Ive tried looking around and tried the key combos at start but to no avial, any help would be amazing, trying to get it installed so I can start working on the WIRELESS issue in ubuntu studio haha please keep in mind im new to linux but can use terminal a little. can ANYONE help me???

proc: Intel core2 duo p8600 @ 2.40ghz
ram: 2.00gb ram
graph: intel 45 express chipset family

hellmet
November 18th, 2009, 06:58 AM
At what stage of the installation is that happening? Also, have you tested the RAM? Let us know more details.

November 18th, 2009, 06:35 PM
it begins right after I start, goes to boot into install and then black screen and ive tried the memtest and no issues where found. so I choose english>next>try/install or even direct install>black screen.

TheDelChop
November 18th, 2009, 07:18 PM
I also have this exact same problem.

November 25th, 2009, 03:59 AM
After looking for weeks still no solution to the black screen if any one finds any thing out please let me know, I would love to indulge me some 9.10 hehe

ntom-taylor
November 28th, 2009, 11:03 AM
I have the exact same problem.

it begins right after I start, goes to boot into install and then black screen and ive tried the memtest and no issues where found. so I choose english>next>try/install or even direct install>black screen.

I am using ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso
Checked the md5sums of local copy and matches..

Never had any problems in the past with 7.10 or 8.04 - this is my first time of this hanging black screen @ installation..