PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] nVidia GeForce FX 5500 installation problems

Jag8917
November 18th, 2009, 02:27 AM
Hi.

I want to set up my dual monitors but am having problems getting my second display to work. I have an nVidia GeForce FX 5500 PCI graphics card. I put it in my computer where it's nice and snug, then downloaded the drivers after booting. The driver I downloaded was accelerated graphics driver version 173. Now when I go to Administration then to NVIDIA X SERVER SETTINGS I get this message upon opening:

"You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server."

I am fairly new to Ubuntu. What is being asked and how do I perform what was said above?

overdrank
November 18th, 2009, 03:24 AM
Hi and welcome, what version of Ubuntu are you using?
You can find this under system, about Ubuntu. Did you install the nvidia drivers under system, administration, hardware drivers?

Jag8917
November 18th, 2009, 03:31 AM
Hi and welcome, what version of Ubuntu are you using?
You can find this under system, about Ubuntu. Did you install the nvidia drivers under system, administration, hardware drivers?

I am using version 9.04. And yes I installed the drivers from under system, administration, and hardware drivers.

Jag8917
November 18th, 2009, 05:25 AM
Actually, I was able to login as root. I then went to the terminal and typed in 'nvidia-xconfig' like previously mentioned and nothing happened.

Jag8917
November 18th, 2009, 09:20 PM
No one knows? Am I even on the right board?

notgoingbackto_ms
November 18th, 2009, 10:21 PM
do LSPCI in terminal and see if FX5500 is listed

dhavalbbhatt
November 18th, 2009, 11:39 PM
I am using version 9.04. And yes I installed the drivers from under system, administration, and hardware drivers.