PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Re: Ati x850 series problem ubuntu 9.04

Biosteel
November 17th, 2009, 04:31 PM
Hello im a neewbie at ubuntu but really want to learn. I've been sitting with this operating system for 2 years. and now i've found a problem that i cant solve myself thats why i turn myself into the pro's.

I cant install the driver for my graphics card (ati radeon x850 series).

when im looking in hardware drivers there are nothing there to enable. and i have allready tried Envy and that made me loose my GUI so i did an reinstall.

so what do you guys think about this ?:o

Biosteel
November 17th, 2009, 06:11 PM
Hello im a neewbie at ubuntu but really want to learn. I've been sitting with this operating system for 2 years. and now i've found a problem that i cant solve myself thats why i turn myself into the pro's.

I cant install the driver for my graphics card (ati radeon x850 series).

when im looking in hardware drivers there are nothing there to enable. and i have allready tried Envy and that made me loose my GUI so i did an reinstall.

so what do you guys think about this ?:o

quoting myself. no one has an idea ??;)

sylentdogg
November 17th, 2009, 06:36 PM
Your card is not supported by the proprietary driver any more. :( All the x series cards are only supported with the open source driver now. The open source driver does support 3d effects with most of the older Ati cards. It should be the driver you are currently running. There is also the radeonhd driver, but some features aren't finished yet. You can find that on Launchpad (https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xserver-xorg-video-radeonhd).

Biosteel
November 17th, 2009, 06:43 PM