PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB2.. why?

It-Alien
November 17th, 2009, 11:21 AM
Hi,

I hope this post will not sound harsh, as I'm simply curious about the reasons for which Ubuntu community has decided to adopt GRUB2 as standard boot manager, which does not seem the best choice to me, as of now.

I understand that GRUB2 comes with new features and structure which will let developers create better utilities, but I think that Ubuntu is aimed at ease of use, and currently making a simple dual boot scheme in GRUB2 is terribly difficult if compared to GRUB. If you put yourself into the shoes of a newbie who wants to perform a Windows-Ubuntu dual boot, you will easily found yourself dispaired. I'm not a newbie myself, still I find myself unable to find the will to start working with this, so this is the main reason for which I installed version 9.04 instead of 9.10 lately and will do so until soemthing like a GUI-driven application for GRUB2 will be released.

presence1960
November 17th, 2009, 04:03 PM
whenever change rolls around a lot of us fall into the human condition of resisting it. GRUB 2 is different than GRUB legacy and it will take some getting used to and some studying. I have Jaunty, Karmic, Masonux 9.04 & XP on a multi-boot setup and GRUB 2 is working perfectly. Of course I had to do some reading when I added an OS but all went well. If you don't want GRUB 2 you can remove it and install Legacy GRUB. See here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=8071880&postcount=18)

It-Alien
November 17th, 2009, 04:09 PM
thanks for your reply, but I don't think you have answered my actual question: I'm not questioning the fact that there have been many good reasons for creating GRUB2 in the first place; what I wonder is if it was really advisable to put GRUB2 into an user-friendly-oriented distro such as Ubuntu. It is already not 100% straightforward to create a dual-boot with legacy GRUB, will it be better with GRUB2? I don't think it will.