PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] realtek wireless cant connect

bullet sincar
November 17th, 2009, 08:16 AM
i am brand new to ubuntu and have been surfing these forums for a while trying to get my wireless going. what i have learned is that i am dangerously under qualified to do this. im going to tell you what i know and see if anyone can help me.
i am attempting to connect to an existing wireless network with WPA personal protection. my ubuntu computer detects it, but does not have a WPA option on the security pull down. i have the newest version of ubuntu. got it today. in terminal, when i command : sudo lshw -C network
i get
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL -8139/8139c/8139C+
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 3
bus info: pci@0000:02:03.0
logical name: eth0
version: 10
serial: 00:13:d3:0e:42:b7
size: 10 MB/s
capacity: 100 MB/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=half latency=64 link=no maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes port=MII speed=10MB/s
resources: irq:20 ioport:dd00(size=256) memory:fdcfe000-fdcfe0ff
*-network
description: Wireless interface
physical id: 1
logical name: wlan0
serial: 00:06:25:31:36:16
capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes multicast=yes wirless=IEEE 802.11-DS

it might be important to note that i am not using ubuntu alongside anything else, i have a computer with only ubuntu on it.
i also did the command to install a wpasupplicant but it seems it was unnecessary. thats pretty much where i got lost.
any help that i could get would be greatly appreciated.

Dude-PWB-
November 17th, 2009, 04:51 PM
What is the output of the networking part of lspci -vv?

bullet sincar
November 17th, 2009, 05:36 PM
i believe this is what you were looking for....?