PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New Linux User.. Sorry.. please help

atsig411
November 17th, 2009, 01:49 AM
I am new to Ubuntu. Trying my first install now. I have a Dell 1650 dual 1.8 2GB RAM. I downloaded Ubuntu 9.10 desktop. I burned the image.

When installing I get to the language select, then the main screen where I chose install Ubuntu. That is the last screen I see after selecting install. Mostly black with very very qucik images of install text. 45 minutes later I have this:

GNU GRUB version 0.97 (640k lower / 2096064 upper memory)

[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. for the first wprd, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible completions of a device/filename.]

grub>

I'm not used to this and I though I would get a visual screen to begin. Does anyone know what I did wrong?

I have now done this three times with the same result.

cenzorrll
November 17th, 2009, 01:53 AM
are you using the "try ubuntu without installing" or the "install ubuntu" option when you first start up?

i've always had an easier time installing from the "try ubuntu first" one.

wrgb2
November 17th, 2009, 01:54 AM
What happens if you run the Live Cd? Choose the option to Run Ubuntu without making any changes to your system - the first option.

atsig411
November 17th, 2009, 01:56 AM
I'm using the "install ubuntu"

I can try "use Ubuntu without installing" but I thought that would just boot from the CD?

atsig411
November 17th, 2009, 02:02 AM
when I try "Run Ubuntu without making any changes to your system"

I get this:

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of Built-in commands.

(initamfs) _

Does this make any sense?

cenzorrll
November 17th, 2009, 02:04 AM