PDA

View Full Version : /home in separate partition during install

aspergerian
November 17th, 2009, 01:47 AM
I'm not too experienced, having installed Heron on two netbooks which I still use. Many posts recommend installing /home on its own partition. I've been going round and round with an Acer 1410 solo core which began as Vista Home Premium. I've been re-confronting the install moment of automatic versus advanced and have tried each, repeatedly during this latest go around. The interface during install isn't quite as obvious (intuitive) as it could be. Bottom lines (for now):

I'd like to see a (clear) way to format entire disk because partitioning during install seems virtually if not totally locked into existing partitions.

I'd like to see an install/partitioning screen that made making a separate /home partition easier.

Sealbhach
November 17th, 2009, 02:08 AM
Yes, it can be a tad confusing. Best thing is to back up your data, shut your eyes and go for it. Maybe Psychocats can help you: http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/separatehome

cariboo
November 17th, 2009, 02:17 AM
If you are familiar with partitioning drives, use the manual partitioning option, it is easy to use. I've never tried auto partitioning.

squilookle
November 17th, 2009, 02:23 AM
I've had the separate /home partition in the past and its great to be able to upgrade by clean install or even switch distributions and keep the home directory.

The only two resons I don't have a separate partition at the minute are

1. I installed Windows XP (after having not had it for a while) and I don't really have a large hard drive anyway, but I lost a chunk of it to Windows...
2. Its good to clean /home out every so often, otherwise there will be lots of rubbish in there that is not needed.

aspergerian
November 17th, 2009, 02:25 AM