PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need to install Windows XP and Ubuntu(CentOS installed)

affableindia
November 16th, 2009, 11:25 PM
Hello,

I'm Sridhar from India. I never got a chance to work on linux, but working on Microsoft Windows platform for past 11 years. I’m facing malware problem on my websites, so my friends suggested going for linux.

So, I got a CentOS from my friend installed in my laptop. But now I come to know that ubuntu is one of the best comparing to any other linux.

My problem
----------
1. I have completely uninstalled Windows XP. And installed CentOS (want to remove CentOS).

2. Need to install Windows XP and Ubuntu (1st Widnows XP, 2nd Ubuntu as dual boot).

Can you guide me, I’m trying to install ubuntu for past 3 weeks please help me out. My friends don't have any idea.

audiomick
November 17th, 2009, 02:03 AM
First of all: I am not a computer professional, but rather someone who has had to figure it all out for himself, so what I tell you may not be the best way.

Be that as it may, it should work like this:
The first thing is to set up fresh partitions on your hard disc.
To do this, you úse the partition editor that is included on the Ubuntu live CD, or another one that you are familiar with, or go and get a gparted live CD.
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/

Whichever way you choose; you can't change a partition that is in use, so you need a tool that is on a bootable CD.

On the Ubuntu live CD:
You probably already know this, but: start the computer with the CD in the drive and choose the option to try Ubuntu without changing the computer.

This is not a bad idea anyway, as it will give you a good idea of how well your laptop will work with Ubuntu