PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Install a second ubuntu in different hard drive

primolarry
November 16th, 2009, 08:13 PM
Hi there,

I'd like to install a second Ubuntu 9.04 for development purposes.

I've prepared a partition in my second drive, so both disk are now like this:

sda1: Windows
sda2: Ubuntu 9.04
sda3: data
sda4: /home

sdb1: swap
sdb2: free for new OS
sdb3: data

My question is, after installing the new Ubuntu in sdb2, how do I upgrade my grub in sda so I can boot both Ubuntus (apart from Windows)

Thanks a lot, regards

darkod
November 16th, 2009, 08:23 PM
I'm quite new to Ubuntu but what I would do is: definitely instruct the second installation not to install grub. When you get to the last scren, before clicking Install there should be button Advanced. That will give you option not to install grub.

After the second installation is done you will boot into your first 9.04 as regular (the second one won't be in grub menu at all), and because both are the same version you should be able to simply copy the same text in menu.lst pointing to the correct partition on the second drive.

If I remember correctly, /boot/grub/menu.lst Just create another entry with the same text and then change the partition it is pointed to.

Edit it, reboot and you should be done. You can open menu.lst now to take a look and see what I am talking about. It's really simple.

PS. Where it says title that's the title that will show in grub menu. Add something to the entry you create for the second installation to make a difference from the first installation so you can tell them apart in grub.

primolarry
November 16th, 2009, 08:26 PM
Thanks for the repply darkroad. Here's the menu.lst part of my current ubuntu 9.04:

title Ubuntu 9.04, kernel 2.6.28-13-server
uuid 8b5d792c-6fd3-41ed-ac89-db817fe0b5bf
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.28-13-server root=UUID=8b5d792c-6fd3-41ed-ac89-db817fe0b5bf ro splash vga=794
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.28-13-server
quiet