PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Completely lost ...

judith_sw
November 16th, 2009, 02:08 PM
Hi,

I am completely new to this, but the learning curve is steeper than expected!

I have an HP 2133 with SUSE and UNR (side-by-side). The installation of UNR seemed to go OK.

However, I cannot connect to the internet. I managed to by ethernet cable last night, but I tried plugging in the ethernet cable at work and nothing happened - no internet at all. I think I need to update the Broadcom drivers, but cannot, as the netbook needs access to the internet.

I also have a 3 dongle (Huawei E156G) but this is not recognised either.

I do not have a clue what to do - I've been googling furiously, but have gone past the point of rationalism :confused:

Any help genuinely appreciated.

dmizer
November 16th, 2009, 02:34 PM
Please post the output of:

lshw -C network

It seems strange that you cannot get access at work via wired ethernet. Have you looked at the network settings in your Windows computer at work, or talked to your network admin? There may be special settings you need for your work connection.

judith_sw
November 16th, 2009, 02:40 PM
Hi,
Just to show you how basic my knowledge is, please could you tell me where and how to enter the code? I presume I need to reboot and then enter the code.
(I learn quickly)
Judith

puppywhacker
November 16th, 2009, 02:41 PM
for typing commands use the terminal at
[applications] [accesories] [terminal]

For the 3G card I recommend a program called VMC "vodafone mobile connect" it should also work for other providers, and it is way more "point and click" than the other options.

For your wired connection we will have to do a bit of systematic troubleshooting. I think the broadcom 57xx modules (drivers) should be already included in linux. I think the driver should be called "bcm5700" if it is loaded already, this command should show 1. the module name 2. the size, 3. optionally the modules that depend on it.

lsmod | grep bcm