PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic



user333
November 15th, 2009, 10:52 PM
I have a problem with the make command. When I use it, it has two errors (that is all I understand, and the output is too long to post). I am trying to compile the widget factory, several drivers, and other other things like that. I always follow the tutorials on this step by step, but I still have this problem. Do I have a missing package? I this not the problem at all, or am I using it wrong? I usually use it like this:


make or


make installI DO use the ./configure command before I do this. I read that you will get errors if you don't use it. I will occasionally get an error from this too, but not often. I am doing the commands in the directory that the source files are in, and usually under sudo bash.

I know it is a very simple question, but I only recently started using Linux, and I am just learning the terminal.

coldReactive
November 15th, 2009, 10:55 PM
Do the errors show that something isn't found?

If so, install the package (or similar package) that it mentions. Sometimes you gotta search hard. Wish make would auto-get the required packages to be honest. :|

Also, if you're making an i386 program on amd64, remember to install ia32-libs-dev

user333
November 15th, 2009, 11:00 PM
How do Install that package?

And the errors just say "ERROR 1" and "ERROR 2". Nothing else.

sisco311
November 15th, 2009, 11:03 PM
Wish make would auto-get the required packages to be honest. :|


if the application is in the repos, you can:

sudo apt-get build-dep package-name

coldReactive
November 15th, 2009, 11:04 PM
if the application is in the repos, you can:

sudo apt-get build-dep package-name

How about gnome2-globalmenu?

sisco311
November 15th, 2009, 11:04 PM
How do Install that package?

And the errors just say "ERROR 1" and "ERROR 2". Nothing else.

please post a link to the app and the exact error message.

user333
November 15th, 2009, 11:06 PM
well, this isn't in the repositories. Thats why I am trying to compile it. What about gnome2-globalmenu?

user333
November 15th, 2009, 11:08 PM
OK, just a second.

user333
November 15th, 2009, 11:17 PM
Here is the widget factory and I think the driver(I am having trouble with attachments). I am unable to post the error message. I don't want to publish my name. Here is just a few part of it:

make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
And so on. For the widget factory, it doesn't show the error 1 and 2 message, but it doesn't work.

coldReactive
November 15th, 2009, 11:19 PM
make clean

then make again, see if you get the error then.

user333
November 15th, 2009, 11:20 PM
I can't upload the driver, and I don't know where I got it. Anyway it is called "linuxwacom"

user333
November 15th, 2009, 11:21 PM
Make clean didn't show any errors...

sisco311
November 15th, 2009, 11:30 PM
TheWidgetFactory is in the universe repos:

sudo software-properties-gtk -e universe
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install thewidgetfactory

globalmenu is available (for Hardy, Intrepid and Jaunty) from the ppa repo: https://launchpad.net/~globalmenu-team/+archive/ppa (http://https://launchpad.net/~globalmenu-team/+archive/ppa)

compiling instructions: http://code.google.com/p/gnome2-globalmenu/wiki/BuildFromSource

edit:
biuld dependencies for globalmenu:

sudo apt-get install intltool libgtk2.0-dev libwnck-dev libgnome-menu-dev libpanelappletmm-2.6-dev libnotify-dev

edit2: build dependency for linuxwacom:

sudo apt-get install xorg-dev

edit3: HOW TO: Install a LinuxWacom Kernel Driver for Tablet PC's

user333
November 15th, 2009, 11:53 PM
Well, I don't know what to yet. The command didn't work. Thanks for your time :) I am getting tired, so I will quit checking this thread today.