PDA

View Full Version : Powerful Editor: Do you like Beaver?

frenchn00b
November 15th, 2009, 10:20 PM
Here I made a deb for Ubuntu:

http://yellowprotoss.ye.funpic.org/pool/contrib/b/beaver0-3-0-1_20091115-1_i386.deb

http://www.nongnu.org/beaver/old/about/Puppy-beaver.jpg

jomiolto
November 15th, 2009, 10:39 PM
I've never used it before, but it looks really nice. According to a quick and very non-scientific test it seems to be about as light as leafpad, but has much more features...

Mornedhel
November 15th, 2009, 10:41 PM
The home page doesn't really explain why I should use it over, say, gedit (not that I would use that, either -- I'm an emacs user).

dragos240
November 15th, 2009, 10:52 PM
Yes, I like beavers.

jomiolto
November 15th, 2009, 10:57 PM
The home page doesn't really explain why I should use it over, say, gedit (not that I would use that, either -- I'm an emacs user).

I think this is the main point: "Beaver's only dependency is GTK+2, so no need to install other libraries eating your disk space. These things make Beaver very suitable for old computers and use in small Linux distributions."

Gedit draws in almost half of Gnome (at least in Ubuntu), which is kind of annoying if you're not a Gnome user.

Mornedhel
November 15th, 2009, 11:03 PM
I think this is the main point: "Beaver's only dependency is GTK+2, so no need to install other libraries eating your disk space. These things make Beaver very suitable for old computers and use in small Linux distributions."

Gedit draws in almost half of Gnome (at least in Ubuntu), which is kind of annoying if you're not a Gnome user.

Good point.

ZankerH
November 15th, 2009, 11:04 PM

An editor that depends on gtk? No thank you. Give me one good reason why I should need a graphical environment to edit text.

Vim for me.

Mornedhel
November 15th, 2009, 11:09 PM
An editor that depends on gtk? No thank you. Give me one good reason why I should need a graphical environment to edit text.

Vim for me.