PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Couldn't install in the d drive

SyAu
November 15th, 2009, 11:55 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu and tried with wubi for a month and really liked Ubuntu. So i want to dual boot it alongside xp.

Now i'm almost stuck with a problem during installation. I got my xp installed in the c drive and would like to install ubuntu 9.10 in the d drive. This d drive got a total size of 111G and i want to allocate 25G for xp related data and allocate the remaining to ubuntu.

During installation, basically i was expecting to select the d drive and use the following option 'Install them side by side, choosing between them at each startup' and using the drag option to resize the d drive to 25G for xp and remaining for ubuntu. But i'm not getting this option but all the remaining three options (Erase and use the entire disk, use the continuous large space and specify partitions manually).

Please assist me to fix this.

coffeecat
November 15th, 2009, 12:07 PM
Boot up the live CD and go to System > Administration > Gparted. Use that to resize your D: partition. It won't show as 'D:' because C:, D:, etc is a bit of Microsoft nonsense dating back to ms-dos days and not shared by *real* OSs. :wink: Your C: will probably show as sda1 and D: as sda2, unless you have a recovery partition of some sort. If you are in any doubt, post back with some details - preferably a screenshot - and we can take it from there.

If you are confident that you have identified which is your D: partition, you can use Gparted to resize it, leaving unallocated space for Ubuntu. Then you can start the installer again and use the 'use continuous free space' option at the partitioning stage. You should be able to do the resize in the manual option, but the above way using Gparted might be a bit more straightforward.