PDA

View Full Version : What's the best way to learn C?

LordRaiden
February 19th, 2006, 12:46 AM
I'm really interested in learning just C before I go onto C++, so that I have a better background on the whole language. I have some experience in Java and VB so I understand most of the OO concepts. Any suggestions of books or websites would be appreciated. I learned most of my Java from Sun's Beginner documentation so anything along those lines I find myself to be comfortable with.

LordHunter317
February 19th, 2006, 12:47 AM
Learn C is not the path to C++. The languages share nothing in common besides some syntax.

Just learn C++. Thinking in C++ is available for free online, but I really recommend Accelerated C++ for a book.

Adrian
February 19th, 2006, 12:56 AM
I agree. The problem with C++ for most people is to "forget" how they used to program in C and adapt to the OO way of thinking. If learning C++ is your goal, then start with C++. I'd say that it's not more difficult than C, just different (and in a lot of ways easier, actually).

If you really want to learn another language before starting with C++, I think Java is a much better choice.

thumper
February 19th, 2006, 01:31 AM
Another vote to learn C++ not C if C++ is your destination.

I also recommend "Accelerated C++" by Koenig and Moo.

kvorion
February 19th, 2006, 01:05 PM
C is a wonderful language to learn for its own merit. But if you want to learn C only so that it would help you to learn C++, then I suggest you start with C++ directly.

LordRaiden
February 24th, 2006, 12:20 PM
I want to learn C so that I can use it if need it. I know that it is used in programming some drivers and embedded systems. A friend of mine also told me that having a good understanding of both languages can help when designing an application.

LordHunter317
February 24th, 2006, 05:02 PM