PDA

View Full Version : Just venting

ExSuSEusr
November 14th, 2009, 05:45 PM
I've been using Ubuntu for quite a while... It really is an amazing OS despite the difficulties we have with getting *some* things to work.

Maybe I'm just seeing things through the eyes of a gamer more so than a typical user... but for as long as I can remember the inability of getting games to work (I'm not talking about lame games such that come with our install, but real games) has been the biggest gripe amongst the community - in fact it seems to the one remaining object that keeps thousands of people from leaving Windows forever.

Maybe I'm missing something here - again I'm just blowing off steam from having nothing but problems getting the ONE thing I want to work the most in Ubuntu working... games.

So, is it me or is there a complete lack of action being taken to resolve these issues? I'm not a C programmer or I'd be working hard on resolutions. And, yes I get that a lot of it has to do with game manufactures refusing to port over a Linux version of their product.

So why does it seem that one of the most important issues facing Linux is being utterly ignored?

/venting off

The Funkbomb
November 14th, 2009, 05:48 PM
Ubuntu is not a gaming OS and I think it's far from "one of the most important issues". Honestly, that's not even on my agenda.

It's an OS that has some games that work and some games that can be made to work, but it's not a gaming OS. Stick with windows or get a console.

Frak
November 14th, 2009, 05:50 PM
The market wants DirectX games, Ubuntu has OpenGL.

There, Ubuntu isn't a gaming OS. Use Windows or a Console if you want.

Paqman
November 14th, 2009, 05:55 PM
So, is it me or is there a complete lack of action being taken to resolve these issues?

What action would you suggest?