PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Resolution too Big

Torri
November 14th, 2009, 12:59 AM
I just installed Xubuntu after trying Ubuntu, which ran slow and kept freezing. Xubuntu seems better, but I'm having a problem with the resolution being too large for the screen. I had the same problem in Ubuntu. I found this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1249829&highlight=resolution+gateway)that talks about the problem, but when I tried the solution given, it didn't work. I'm working on an oldish Gateway 3215 laptop.

This is my very first time on Linux, so I feel like a preschooler dumped in with a bunch of college kids! I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, but I have no idea what. Help???

kerry_s
November 14th, 2009, 01:09 AM
on the specs it only says 14", so i'm going to assume it's suppose to be 1024x768.

press: alt+f2
type: gksudo mousepad /etc/X11/xorg.conf
add to the screen section:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection

log out & back in

Torri
November 14th, 2009, 01:22 AM
Oh no, I tried that and now I can't get back to my desktop. I logged out and tried to get back in, and it's stuck at name@name-laptop:~$ ??? what does that mean?

audiomick
November 14th, 2009, 01:44 AM
Torri, don't panic. Your x-server is broken. I'm sorry I can't tell you how to fix it, but I can tell you, all is not lost.

Torri
November 14th, 2009, 01:56 AM
My x-server? I'm embarrassed to not know what that is. I knew the learning curve was steep on this but man, it's like I've never seen a computer before.

Maybe I should just reinstall the os. Anyone know how to fix this?

kerry_s
November 14th, 2009, 02:14 AM
My x-server? I'm embarrassed to not know what that is. I knew the learning curve was steep on this but man, it's like I've never seen a computer before.

Maybe I should just reinstall the os. Anyone know how to fix this?

type: sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg