PDA

View Full Version : Is there any way to do window "Snap" in KDE or Gnome?



hoppipolla
November 13th, 2009, 07:41 PM
This is the one feature that I miss from Windows 7 (I still have it on here dual boot but I don't go into it often unless I want to play games) - the ability to snap two windows so the take up half the screen each. I mean fair enough I have virtual desktops and the ability to make a window stay above others, but snapping allows me to quickly compare two windows, copy information, or otherwise interact with both at the same time, without spending time resizing them manually.

So, I'm just wondering if there is any way to have a feature like this currently in KDE 4 or Gnome 2? I mean, I'm sure it must be being considered for future version of at least one of these DEs, but I was curious about if anyone has achieved it already?

Thanks guys ^_^

Hoppi!

andomon
November 13th, 2009, 07:44 PM
I think you can do that with compiz and grid.

Islington
November 13th, 2009, 07:57 PM
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2009/11/aero-snap-ubuntu-linux.html

here you go hoppi.

hoppipolla
November 13th, 2009, 08:08 PM
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2009/11/aero-snap-ubuntu-linux.html

here you go hoppi.

ah that's cool!

Only issue is that for me personally I use Kwin... heh :)

So that solves it for Gnome and KDE users using Compiz... but am I right in saying there is presently no way to achieve it in Metacity or Kwin?


EDIT -- Ok wow it's a potential at least in Kwin! It's called "Quick Tiling"! I am looking into this! Wicked stuff :)

Islington
November 13th, 2009, 08:13 PM
ah that's cool!

Only issue is that for me personally I use Kwin... heh :)

So that solves it for Gnome and KDE users using Compiz... but am I right in saying there is presently no way to achieve it in Metacity or Kwin?

Well metacity compositing is just silly, I do not know about mutter, and kwin in Kde 4.4 will have built in tabbing and tiling, so have some patience on that front.

If you have to have it, go ahead and install compiz with kde, it can do everything kwin can, but it can also do other things, provided you set them up.

hoppipolla
November 13th, 2009, 08:24 PM
Well metacity compositing is just silly, I do not know about mutter, and kwin in Kde 4.4 will have built in tabbing and tiling, so have some patience on that front.

If you have to have it, go ahead and install compiz with kde, it can do everything kwin can, but it can also do other things, provided you set them up.

Ah maybe it's best I wait until 4.4 then, it's cool, I mean it's only one feature and I'm really glad it will be in the next KDE :)

I'll have a play and see if there's any way to get Kwin doing it in 4.3 but I doubt it, other than that I'm quite happy being patient! :)

zhocchao
November 13th, 2009, 08:50 PM
http://gtk-apps.org/content/show.php/ctrlwm?content=114565

works with metacity and kde

Brejcha
August 19th, 2010, 06:32 PM
I think you can do that with compiz and grid.

This comment is exactly right. I have compiz fusion and by using the above website that tells you the change binding keys and crap....it screws up other special effects that I want to keep such as expo.

If you use grid...just press ctrl+alt and a numpad number to move stuff. SIMPLE!

BigSilly
August 19th, 2010, 08:45 PM
I have Windows 7 too, but I will confess that I never use Aero Snap. Occasionally when I remember it's there I'll do it, but mostly it's not that practical for me. It's a little fiddly imho. I remember when I first installed W7. Everyone was telling me how stunning the Aero thing looked, and I was actually a little disappointed with it after years of Ubuntu/Compiz. I still don't find it as attractive as the general Compiz thing on Linux, but I have kinda grown to appreciate it a little over time.

/Cue "cool story bro" from some witty forumite.

:D

EDIT:


I think you can do that with compiz and grid.

Just tried that, and to me that's just as useful if you want the window snap thing as the W7 equivalent. Thanks for sharing. :)

ElSlunko
August 19th, 2010, 08:59 PM
I use the compiz + grid quite a bit when comparing photos outside of my editor.

RiceMonster
August 19th, 2010, 08:59 PM
I'm sad. I thought hopippolla was back when I saw this thread :(.

Dustin2128
August 19th, 2010, 10:15 PM
yes, it was enabled by default in slack 12 or 13. In fact, KDE, not microsoft invented this feature.

jimbop99
August 19th, 2010, 11:04 PM
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2009/11/aero-snap-ubuntu-linux.html

here you go hoppi.

Cool! Thanks.

MasterNetra
August 19th, 2010, 11:27 PM
yes, it was enabled by default in slack 12 or 13. In fact, KDE, not microsoft invented this feature.

Not true, check this out:
http://www.istartedsomething.com/20090627/windows-longhorns-aero-snap-circa-2005/

They were playing with it long before KDE even thought about implementing a snap feature.