PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing 9.10

stuart_g
November 13th, 2009, 04:42 PM
Hello,
I'm new to this OS and I'm trying to install it on the only disk in my system. I choose to install Ubuntu then the screen changes to the Ubuntu symbol and the hard disc light is on permanantly, been like it for ages.
Is it formatting the hard drive? doesn't say it is doing anything on the screen.
I haven't got windows installed anywhere in the system, should I have?

System hard drive is a 80Gb SATA.

Any help would be appreciated

Cheers
Stu.

presence1960
November 13th, 2009, 05:27 PM
Hello,
I'm new to this OS and I'm trying to install it on the only disk in my system. I choose to install Ubuntu then the screen changes to the Ubuntu symbol and the hard disc light is on permanantly, been like it for ages.
Is it formatting the hard drive? doesn't say it is doing anything on the screen.
I haven't got windows installed anywhere in the system, should I have?

System hard drive is a 80Gb SATA.

Any help would be appreciated

Cheers
Stu.
You may have a bad burn or bad iso. Let's start at the beginning and go forward.

Did you MD5SUM (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM) the iso prior to burning it to disk as an image?

Did you burn the iso as an image to CD at no more than 4x-8x speed? If your burning software will not allow you to choose burn speed see here (https://help.ubuntu.com/9.10/switching/installing-burning.html) for Infrarecorder.

If all this checks out boot the Live CD or USB if you made a bootable Live USB and choose "check disk for errors" when the menu comes up.

If all this is OK then try to install again. If it fails again boot the CD/USB again and this time choose "try ubuntu without any changes". When the desktop loads use the install icon on the desktop to install Ubuntu.

stuart_g
November 13th, 2009, 06:08 PM
I did burn the image correctly and when I explore the disk I have various folders and files not the iso image.