PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] Problems after compressing XP drive

SalishSea
November 13th, 2009, 10:27 AM
As soon as I pressed the button I knew I just bought myself grief, but oh the clarity of hindsite.

I was a bit pressed for space on the XP side of my XP/Ubuntu 9.04 dual install, so I stupidly compressed the XP drive using XP's compression tool. Dumb idea. Now I see the Ubuntu partition on boot in GRUB, but no joy once I try to boot to the Ubuntu drive.

I figured the Ubuntu partition was hosed, but... when I tried to do a new install with 9.10, it asked me if I wanted to uninstall 9.04. So, is there any hope of recovering a bootable Ubuntu image off this drive? Might I just uncompress some file or files?

Thanks!

SalishSea
November 13th, 2009, 10:36 AM
I should have noted that the dual install was a WUBI install.

darkod
November 13th, 2009, 11:23 AM
I am new to Ubuntu too, so if I am wrong someone with more experience please correct me.
I am seeing plenty of people here confusing wubi with Ubuntu installation. As far as I know, wubi is just to test ubuntu, it "installs" it sort of like a virtual machine, it does not change partitions on your hdd, it will add an entry for ubuntu on your standard windows bootloader and in your windows drive it will just create a folder for ubuntu in which it virtually works.

So, unless you have some very important data, forget about saving the wubi installation. It is not an installation.

Next, you mention grub. Are you sure you have grub at all? Wubi would have added ubuntu entry in your XP bootloader.