PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrading Kills Grub and XP

Nohtanhoj
November 13th, 2009, 06:58 AM
Before I decided to upgrade to Ubuntu 9.10, I was running a dual-boot system with Windows XP. I have kind of a "thing" about doing clean installs (and I'm also a total Linux noob), so I thought that I could format the Linux partition, boot into Windows, make my bootable USB then, and all would go well.

I just learned the hard way that what I said is a catastrophe of errors. Since Grub is installed on the Linux partition, I can no longer boot into Windows. To make matters worse, my computer is a netbook that has no CD drive (leaving me with only a bootable USB option).

My issue is this - does anyone know how to make a bootable USB stick with a Mac (that's my only other accessible computer) ? If so, then I should be able to remedy this problem myself. If not, since I don't have my Windows restore CD's, what should I do?

Sorry to dump such a huge fail onto you guys, but I clearly can't do it myself and don't want to make things worse (if it was possible). The good thing is, I have access to a 9.10 live CD.

lisati
November 13th, 2009, 07:06 AM
Are you able to boot from the Live CD? If so, and you experience no problems with the "Try Ubuntu without installing" option, you should be able to install from there. Just remember to tell the installer to use the largest continuous free space (i.e. the area previously occupied by Ubuntu)

Nohtanhoj
November 13th, 2009, 09:11 AM
What I meant by "I have access to a copy of Live CD," is that I have one in my possession. My current dilemma is that I cannot transfer that CD into a bootable USB because my only other computer is a Mac.

Nohtanhoj
November 13th, 2009, 02:20 PM
Bump - I need to get this fixed....

raymondh
November 13th, 2009, 02:36 PM
This may be a long shot ..... but I think is worth investigating ....